Now Reading
California Grants Portal: Environmental Enhancement & Mitigation

California Grants Portal: Environmental Enhancement & Mitigation



The EEM Program, an annual program, was established by legislation in 1989. It was amended on September 26, 2013. It grants grants to local, federal, and state governmental agencies. There are three types: Urban Forestry and Resource Lands. Mitigation Projects Beyond The Scope of the Lead Agency.



EEM projects must help to mitigate the environmental impacts of transportation facilities. The California Natural Resources Agency, (Agency), sets out procedures and criteria for evaluating grant project proposals. It then submits a list recommending projects for funding to California Transportation Commission. The CTC grants grants to projects from the Agency’s list.

Related Transportation Facility

EEM projects must reduce, either directly, or indirectly, the environmental effects of modifications to existing Transportation Facilities or the construction of new Transportation Facilities (hereinafter referred the Related Transportation Facility or RTF). EEM projects can either provide mitigation or enhancement of mitigation to the RTF.

Statewide Project Goals

Agency grant programs support state and local entities in creating more sustainable communities, increasing adaptability to climate change, protecting biodiversity, and improving quality of living in those communities. EEM projects that have the following multiple benefits will be more attractive:

Diminished air and/or surface pollution

Reduced energy and natural resources consumption

Reliable local water supplies are more reliable

Increased adaptability to climate changes

Protection of biodiversity should be increased

Examples of eligible projects

Below is a list of examples of elements in projects that meet the statutory conditions. It is not an exhaustive list.

Urban Forestry:

Planting trees and other vegetation along streets and medians.

The greening of existing public lands and structures, such as school campuses or urban parks.

Reclaiming abandoned and vacant land.

Restoration of urban creeks

Resource Lands

The removal of invasive species and the restoration of natural plant species.

Enhancement or restoration natural areas, such as inland wetlands, forests, oak woodlands and mountain meadows, streams with riparian fish or wildlife habitat, wildlife corridors or fish passages.

Acquisitions in fee title or through conservation easements to safeguard regional water supplies, protect riparian and wildlife habitats, conserve agricultural lands for secure wildlife migration corridors, and provide public access for compatible wildlife/natureoriented recreation by the wider community.

Acquisitions to protect in perpetuity Resource Lands, open space, biodiversity, and agricultural uses.

See Also
For some experts, reducing flying is the only genuine path to achieving net zero.

Mitigation projects that go beyond the scope of the Lead Agency

Any of the listed project examples under Urban Forestry and Resource Lands categories could be eligible under the Mitigation Projects Beyond the Scope of the Lead Agency Category, if the mitigation and/or enhancement measures for the RTF were not possible or beyond the authority and jurisdiction of the Lead Agency.

Questions concerning Project Criteria

Applicants are required to choose one project category and respond accordingly AllThe questions in the Selected category. If the question is not applicable to your project, indicate Not Relevant Here’s a quick explanation.

Eligibility requirements

Eligible Applicants:

You can apply to local, state, and federal agencies as well as 501(c(3) nonprofit entities. The applicant entity does not have to be a transportation- and highway-related organization, but must be able show adequate charter or enabling power to carry out the type project proposed and be eligible under Article XIX. While partnerships are encouraged, a project proposal may only be submitted by one entity.

Eligible Geographies:


Split North/South

It will be possible to award 40% of total funding to projects located in the northern counties and 60% to projects located in the southern counties. The following are considered southern counties: San Luis Obispo; Kern, Mono. Tulare. Inyo. Santa Barbara. Ventura. Los Angeles. San Bernardino. Orange. Riverside. San Diego. Imperial. All other counties are considered to be northern counties

Matching Funding Requirement

EEM Program grants are not eligible for matching funds. However, projects that include funding sources other than the EEM Program grant may be more competitive.

Applicants who have received or plan to obtain other sources of funding for a project must identify each source separately on the Cost Estimate (Appendix E or D), which also includes other State of California funds or in-kind contributions.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.