Now Reading
Champions of the Earth: Mia Mottley against the faceless few
[vc_row thb_full_width=”true” thb_row_padding=”true” thb_column_padding=”true” css=”.vc_custom_1608290870297{background-color: #ffffff !important;}”][vc_column][vc_row_inner][vc_column_inner][vc_empty_space height=”20px”][thb_postcarousel style=”style3″ navigation=”true” infinite=”” source=”size:6|post_type:post”][vc_empty_space height=”20px”][/vc_column_inner][/vc_row_inner][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Champions of the Earth: Mia Mottley against the faceless few

Mia Mottley has been named the 2021 Champions of the Earth Award for her leadership in policy.

The top Barbadian politician, who was standing in front of the UN General Assembly in January, wasn’t in the mood to make a fuss.

She blasted the leaders of the world for pushing the world towards climate catastrophe and threatening the future of small-island States like hers.
The passionate speech made headlines all over the globe and was a welcome to Mottley.
The Champion of the Earth for Policy Leadership in Barbados this year is the Barbados Prime Minister. He has spent years fighting against pollution, climate change and deforestation and has made Barbados a leader in the global environmental movement.

Under Ms. Mottleys supervision, the country has developed a bold plan to eliminate fossil fuels by 2030.

She wants every home to have solar panels on their roofs and an electric vehicle in front. Ms. Mottleys encouragement, Latin America was the first region to agree on the Action Plan for UN Decade.

Ecosystem Restoration is a worldwide effort to prevent and reverse environmental degradation.

Find out more information about the plans of Prime Ministers to secure a sustainable Barbados future. Here.


Champions of the Earth

  • The United Nations Environment Programmes Champions of the Earth, and the Young Champions of the Earth, recognize individuals, groups, and organizations that have made a positive impact on the environment. The UN’s highest environmental honour, the Champions of the Earth Award, is presented each year.
  • The UN General Assembly has designated 2021-2030 as the UN Decade on Ecosystem Restoration. It is intended to prevent, halt, or reverse the loss and destruction of ecosystems around the world. It aims to restore billions of hectares and cover both terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems. Visit www.decadeonrestoration.orgLearn more

Visit UN NewsLearn more.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.